More Students Named National Merit Scholars

14 students from Johns Creek schools make the list.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced today that 23 recent Fulton County graduates have been named National Merit Scholars. In addition to the prestigious National Merit Scholar distinction, these 2012 seniors earned National Merit scholarships from participating colleges.

Northview High School in Johns Creek has nine scholars named today, while Johns Creek High has three and Chattahoochee has two.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners:

Alpharetta High School
Navya R. Nadimpalli
Kyle R. Seebohm

Brandon M. Danzig
Allison M. Riley

Angel Chen
Frank A. Mu
Leo T. Wang

Milton High School
Srinidhi Chaganty
Samuel M. Hepburn

Alexander Heldman
Ethan P. Everett
Yue Guo
Sarah M. Lau
Arvind S. Narayan
Vignesh Sivashanmugam
Hunter Stewart
Albert E. Tanubrata
Nitin Venugopal

Roswell High School
Benjamin J. Beker
Grace J. Hsu
Alexander M. Sheldon
Cooper B. Surrett
Muhammad T. Wasim

In April and early May, National Merit announced 21 winners that received scholarships from the and . Five students also were named National Achievement Scholars, a similar academic competition for African-American high school students. A final round of college-sponsored National Merit winners will be announced July 9.

All of the students first were identified through exceptionally high scores on the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and SAT. They had a record of high academic performance and were endorsed and recommended by their school principal.

Don’t miss any Johns Creek Patch news. Subscribe to our free newsletter, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.




More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »