.

(Video) 12-12-12 Sandy Concert: Online Reviews and Pics

The benefit from New York had some memorable performers and moments.

Updated 9:23 a.m., December 13

It was a memorable lineup of musical performers. The 12-12-12 Concert for Sandy Relief began at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday in New York and lasted until well after midnight Thursday.

It also was memorable for another reason.

As the Rolling Stones' Mick Jagger noted, "This has to be the largest collection of old British musicians ever at Madison Square Garden."

The Stones performed two songs, and Eric Clapton played three. Other British musicians in the lineup included Paul McCartney, The Who and Roger Waters.

According to media reports, the show closed with Alicia Keys -- the only woman performer -- with the other stars.

As the New York Times' set-by-set review noted, New Yorker Billy Joel said, “We’re going to get through all this. This is New York and New Jersey and Long Island and we’re just too mean to lay down and die.”

The Huffington Post has a review and video of McCartney joining the band Nirvana onstage.

A New York Times slideshow of photos is here.

-- Did you watch the 12-12-12 Concert for Sandy Relief? Share your observations here.

mick cusimano December 13, 2012 at 03:19 PM
I just watched part of the Sandy benefit concert last night. Clapton, Springsteen and the Stones were all fine. The Who just did 6 songs. They still have the passion at 67. It's so inspiring watching all our aging heroes still rocking the house down. Too bad I missed McCartney. • Can you imagine being backstage last night drinking Johnny Walker Red with Springsteen, Alicia Keys, the Stones, The Who, Clapton, McCartney and company rocking back and forth singing twist and shout. ? Now that's the party that I wish i could have been at.
JOAN BRYAN December 13, 2012 at 05:38 PM
It was totally amazing - I am a child of the 60's and these "old" rockers as Jagger called them, have still got it - in spades. They put the younger ones to shame - Roger Daltry's voice is as strong as ever (and he looked pretty good too!) and all the passion is still there. Billy Joel brought the roof down with a fantastic show. Both these bands made the Stones look like amateurs. I was so disappointed in them - only 2 songs - and I have always considered them to the best band every. I felt as if I was there - it was a hell of a night. It moved me to give. I hope it moved you guys in the same way. JOAN
Steve Burns December 13, 2012 at 06:15 PM
For sure, one of those "once in a lifetime" events, Joan. Could be that the Stones cut their performance short because they have a pay-per-view event scheduled this weekend.
bubba December 13, 2012 at 09:07 PM
It sucked so bad. There IS a point that old rockers should retire. Although I think Keith Richards is already dead. The Who was so off key and sad. Really brought me down. Kayne West in a dress? WTF. I know its charity but I felt like I was giving to the releif fund but just suffering thru off beat out of key music and Horrid robo- auto tune singing by Kayne. They all get kudos for performing, but it would have been better if they just donated money that actually performed. Oh Billy Joel needs to go to weight watchers but he still sounded good.
Flubber December 13, 2012 at 11:06 PM
bubba ... you sure lost the "meaning" of the show! No matter who sang and how good. How about you come down to NJ and get a feel ... for what it was really about ! No one cares about your neg BS. Take it to someone who will listen ... look in the mirror !!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »